Medicare insurance is a health insurance plan that is specifically designed for the elderly. In other word, it is that insurance policy targeted for the old age and the disabled. In United States, the Medicare insurance has been helping millions of Americans with healthcare services since 1965, and the program is still rolling till date.


Medicare Eligibility Requirements For Enrollment


To be enrolled for this type of insurance plan, you must satisfy the following requirements:

  • If you’re clocking 65 years old
  • If you’re over 65 years old
  • If you’re under 65 years old with a disability.


Categories Of Medicare Insurance

1. Medicare Part A

Medicare part A is an insurance plan that takes care of the hospital coverage. Although the plan does not cover everything, but it pays 90% of medical cost including Payment for Inpatient hospital stays and skilled nursing facility stays and Payment for Hospice care and respite care.

2. Medicare Part B

This is a type of insurance plan that takes care of the medical expenses and cost of treatment. It involves an insurance coverage for doctor visits, lab test, outpatient care, medical equipment, etc.


  1. Medicare advantage Part C

Medicare Advantage is an insurance plan offered by private insurers. The plan tend to combine a variety of cost into one place including doctor’s visits, hospital cost, prescription of drugs, outpatient care cost, dental treatment cost, vision treatment cost, and other services.


  1. Medicare prescription part D

This is the type that takes care of drug prescription costs. The costs covered for drugs vary from plan to plan and are offered by approved private insurance company.